Charlie Caine match 2014

The organisers were proved right to postpone the match by 24 hours

[gmedia id=1]

Photos courtesy of Margaret Dodd


The sun shone on the ploughmen at Shenharra for the re scheduled Manx Style Championships, following the storm that blew up just one day earlier. However, tree roots proved to be an issue for some competitors.


Dennis Duggan, Dennis Clarke, Dennis Quirk and Roy Gelling were the judges for the day and between them had 9 butts of ploughing to choose the winner from.


In the end #John_Dobson took the CorKer Cup and Lamb Shield as the main prize,  being 3 points ahead of Harold Leece. This was the third time that John has taken this title.


1John Dobson1718171716161718138
2Harold Leece1617171717171816135
3George Gelling1518171717171617134
4Ross Cormode1517171817161616132
5Michael Craine1516171717141513124
6Steven Lace1215171612121212102


#Samantha_Crellin won the Caine Cup and Colinson Copper Kettle when she took the first prize in the horse class.


PosNameByeWidthDepthPackingSeedbedStraightAppearanceIns & OutClashPoints
1Samantha Crellin161716151516161615142
2Nicola Rawnsley151516151415141614135
Jim CaineDNF


The prize presentation will take place at the Glen Helen, on Thursday 6th Februray, starting at about 8pm. There will be a hot buffet available and a slide show by Ian Quayle. More details from Lennie Kerruish.



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *