Isle of Man Ploughing Championships 2005

Bright conditions greeted the ploughmen as they arrived at the field.

[gmedia id=33]


Bright conditions greeted the ploughmen as they arrived at the field, which had turned slightly sticky under foot after quite heavy rain the night before had broke the recent spell of fine weather. The match saw a return to the venue of 2003 on Oatlands Farm by kind permission of Mr & Mrs Shacklock.


The recent upturn in numbers was reflected in a total of 22 tractors and 4 pairs off horses all competing for the title of Manx National Champion. Several new faces made their debut at this years match and these included #Liam_Leece, #Chris_Corkhill and #Chris_Clegg all off which ploughed well in their first National. As has been the recent tradition, judges from the UK were invited to cast an eye over the work alongside the local judges. This year it was the turn of Mr N Crane & Mr GF Allwood, who made the journey over. #Dennis_Quirk, from Patrick was the third judge for the Tractor class, while #Roy_Gelling and #Herbie_Corkish judged the horses.


The overall standard was once again very high and #Robert_Corkish from Colby regained the title he won last year at Jurby . Robert will now be invited to represent the Isle of Man at the British National Ploughing Championships, to be held on 8th and 9th October in Cambridgeshire. #John_Costain improved on last years 3rd place to take the runner up spot and will now be invited to represent the Island in the British Vintage Championship.


#Jim_Caine from Peel, continued his dominance of the horse class by winning for the 5 year in a row. He too will receive an invited to compete at the British championships as Island champion.


The day was rounded off with the prize presentation and buffet held at the Tynwald Inn, with the prizes being presented by Chief Minister, #Donald_Gelling. Donald was a former secretary of the Isle of Man Ploughing Association and the organisers were pleased to welcome him back for the evening, to retell some stories from those early days.


PosNameSplitByeSeedbedPackingUniformityStraightIns & OutClashPenaltiesPoints
1Robert Corkish5110484889910550910672
2John Costain5010177808497431020634
3Gordon Kennaugh48967781789643850604
4Andrew McKeown49947372779743910596
5Colin Duggan46907275798739820570
6Stephen Ennett35757274778940800542
7Jimmy Corlett41767069699041750531
8Alan Radcliffe35677071738341820522
9Philip Corrin29726672788640760519
10Cliff Costain36746264678441820509
11Steven Lace30636466678441820497
12Liam Leece31746568667938730494
13John Corkish24765656637240690456
13David Corlett36646158626736480432
15Michael Reubens28625859687131470424
16David Corkish28504952587837630415
17Leslie Watterson32425959636632480401
18John Crawley26396261646535320384
19Bill Corkish19435448486432450353
20Charlie Corlett316058575454354040349
21Chris Corkill15504445384628400306
22Chris Clegg17343332373830220243


PosNameSplitByeSeedbedPackingUniformityStraightIns & OutClashPoints
1Jim Caine3272707171755274517
2Jonathan Ward2969697071725272504
3Tristan Kewley3063656566695270480
4J Ansell3061616060624861443


The full list of prize winners is:

Clelland Cup for Best overall #Robert_Corkish
Boyde Cup for Best Bye #Robert_Corkish
Christian Cup for the Best Vintage ploughing #John_Costain
Massey Ferguson Cup for best work done with a Ferguson tractor #John_Costain
Chrystal Cup for Best Clash #John_Costain
J Costain Cup for the Best Horse ploughing #Jim_Caine
J Roberts Memorial Cup for the best unassisted ploughman #Gordon_Kennaugh
S Picard Cup for the best turned out team #Gerry_Vernon


The Association would like to thank all those who helped make the event the success it was, in particular Mr & Mrs Shacklock, Oatlands, the Central Young Farmers, who provided dinner, the judges, the Tynwald Inn for the buffet, the ploughmen who attended and anyone else who contributed in any way.