Isle of Man Ploughing Championships 2

The sun finally shone on the competitors at the 2014 Manx National match.

[gmedia id=7]


This year’s match was held at Orrisdale by kind permission of Mr John Radcliffe and the excellent site resulted in a very high standard of ploughing across the 13 tractor and 4 horse competitors.


This was the 54th match to be staged by the Isle of Man Ploughing Association, whose main goal has been to select the qualifiers to plough at the British Ploughing Championships, which this year will be held in Hampshire in October.


In the end, it was #Gordon_Kennaugh who retained the title he won last year in Jurby. Using a John Deere/Kverneland combination he also won the cup for the best bye. Alan Radcliffe was announced as the runner up at the presentation, but following a recount of the points, it was #Tony_Collister who swapped positions with #Alan_Radcliffe who was now third. #Colin_Duggan in fourth and took the cup for the best clash.

PosNameSplitByeSeedbedUniformityPackingStraightIns & OutClashPoints
1Gordon Kennaugh5354514851535252414
2Tony Collister4949515149504849396
3Alan Radcliffe5047515150515144395
4Colin Duggan5048494648505052393
5Steven Lace4746514751484646392
6William Duggan4742514449494549376
7Stephen Ennett4642474550474848373
8George Gelling4338444647454744354
9Michael Craine4646494245444437353
10Jimmy Corlett3341424747464745348
11Shaun O'Boyle4343304244464439331
12Michael Reubens4036494338414238327
13Ciaran Cain3735473942344227303


There were also awards for the best

  • World style – Gordon Kennaugh
  • Vintage hydraulic – Alan Radcliffe
  • Vintage trailed – Tony Collister
  • Classic – Colin Duggan


In the horse ploughing, #Shaun_Gale, under the guidance of his grandfather #Jim_Caine, was placed first, ahead of #Nicola_Rawnsley, who won the prize for the best turned out horses. #Ian_Tilley was third.

PosNameByeSeedbedUniformityPackingStraightIns & OutsClashTotal
1Shaun Gale19191818181718127
2Nicola Rawnsley18181617151714115
3Ian Tilley18161615161716114
4Percy Faragher16151417151614107


The day was rounded off with the prize presentation in the Tynwald Inn.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 thoughts on “Isle of Man Ploughing Championships

  • david rawnsley

    Re: Horse Ploughing results at the National, you state that Graham Jones was third, though in fact he was leading the horses, Percy Faragher was ploughing. Your results table gives the impression that Ian Tilley was third, though he was in fact fourth. Some of the points seem to have been mixed up. I don’t have a copy of the score sheet, but those don’t look quite right. David

    • manx ploughing Post author

      Thanks I’ve corrected the typo on the third place.

      The results are taken directly from the score sheets supplied to me. I do not alter the results provided.