2001 Isle of Man National

John Costain retains title

#John_Costain, from Foxdale, held off some stiff competition and retained his Isle of Man National Champion title.

The match held at Ballaholly, Jurby on 3rd February, by kind permission of Mrs McMillan & William McMillan, had just about ideal conditions. Held in stubble, the sandy soil and dry day helped to produce a very high standard of ploughing.  Competitors and judges from Wales, England & Scotland added an International flavour to the match, but locals filled the top 3 places in the tractor class, in the same order as last year.


John, ploughing with his 1947 Ferguson tractor and Internationanal drag plough, saw off the challenge from the more modern equipment. He will now represent the Island at the British Championships, in October.  #Jim_Caine, from Peel, was crowned the horse ploughing champion. Having ploughed in every Island National and winning both the horse and tractor titles.



PosNameSplitByeSeedbedPackingUniformityStraightIns & OutClashPoints
1John Costain4610810610510610650111738
2Colin Duggan4110410610610510750112731
3Gordon Kennaugh4610510210410410549107722
4Robert Corkish4310210010410510650104714
5Stepehen Ennett449810310210010349103702
6Tony Bradley419799991049748101686
7Steven Lace38941039710010349101685
8Harold Leece369998991021024799682
9Walter Radcliffe384693101999949102681
10Bill Corkish3994100100981014099671
11Andy McKeown409193939710346101664
12Sid Corlett42909399979547100663
13William McMillan3987959497964491643



PosNameSplitByeSeedbedPackingUniformityStraightIns & OutClashPoints
1Jim Caine2874737274753368497
2Philip Gawne3273727073753367495
3Roy Prescott3170706873743260478
4Sylvia Morrey2967656271683365460
5Jonathan Ward2466626369733167455
6Tristan Kewley2160606167653160425
7Eric Delany2857595365643157414

View the match details