2003 Manx National

Colin Duggan is the Manx Champion

Following on from his 2nd place at the British National Ploughing Match, #Colin_Duggan from Ballavell became the Isle of Man champion for 2003.  Colin regained the title he last held in 1998 from second placed #John_Costain, the defending champion, by 9 points.  #Stephen_Ennett ploughed well to take third.

In the horse ploughing class, #Jim_Caine retained his title for the third year in succession, with #Philip_Gawne, again the runner up. #Sylvia_Morrey ploughed herself into third place.


Mrs Shacklock of Oatlands in Santon provided the venue and the site proved ideal for a very high standard of ploughing to be produced again. The soil varied across the site with one end being a bit dry and stoney to the other end being wetter and more soapy. The event was so popular this year that there was a possibility of any late comers not being able to be provided with a butt. The early frost in the ground was soon thawed and a fine sunny day with a cold east wind followed. Ideal for competitors and spectators alike.


The Isle of Man Ploughing Association would like to express its thanks to Mrs Shacklock for the venue Central Young Farmers for providing the dinner. The judges: #Sid_Corrin, #Dennis_Clarke, #Roy_Gelling, #Clarence_McKeown, #Ken_Cringle and anyone else who help make the day the great success it was.


The day was rounded off with the prize presentation at Port St Mary Golf Club, with a buffet supper and entertainment provided by Dickie Kelly.


Tractor results
PosNameSplitByeSeedbedPackingUniformityStraightIns & OutClashPoints
1Colin Duggan5311310911111111049113769
2John Costain5211210810911010850111760
3Stephen Ennett5010710710810911050111752
4Robert Corkish4910510410510510750107732
5Jimmy Corlett4510410110310510450105717
6David Corkish479810010310310250105708
7John Hooson509510110310210248103704
8Keith Fargher449910010010010249104698
9George Gelling4599999910010149105697
10Samantha Coole519496101991014998689
11Alan Radcliffe4594100991011014899687
12Philip Corrin50959898959949104685
13Steven Lace4294979997984897672
13Leslie Watterson44899599989948100672
15John Corkish40909697999849100669
16Bill Corkish4592969794984898668
17Michael Reubins40919810095954898665
18John Crawley4089969898974794659


Horse results
PosNameSplitByeSeedbedPackingUniformityStraightIns & OutClashPoints
1Jim Caine3272727276763276508
2Philip Gawne3468727272723668494
3Sylvia Morrey2860687268683472470
4J Ansell3256646868683264452
5Jonathan Ward2452646864603468434
7Eric Delany2456606064643260420